Sony Confirms No PlayStation 5 Announcement This Year in E3 2018

The distributor's presentation will focus on software.

PlayStation Logo

In recent months there have been several rumors about the PlayStation 5, so some people thought there was a possibility that it would be revealed in E3 2018. If this idea excited you, we are afraid to inform you that this will not happen, or at least that is what Sony recently confirmed.

In the PlayStation Blogcast in which Sony shared its plans for E3 2018, Shawn Layden, the president of Sony Interactive Entertainment Worldwide Studios, made it clear that they are not preparing hardware related announcements for this event. So, it will only focus on showing software for PlayStation 4.

“At this year’s E3 event, both the media event and what we do in the convention center, we’re going to be focusing on all of our great content that’s coming out. There will be no new hardware announcement at E3 this year. You heard it here first,” he said.

So, what you should expect from the PlayStation 4 presentation is more information about future releases like The Last of Us: Part II, Marvel’s Spider-Man, Death Stranding and Ghost of Tsushima. We remind you that its presentation will take place on Monday, June 11 at 6 pm PDT, 9 pm EDT, 2 am BST (June 12).

E3 2018 will be held June 12-14 in Los Angeles, California. And what about you, are you excited about the Sony conference at E3 2018 despite there being no information on the new hardware? Do you think it will be a long time before we hear about the next console of PlayStation 5? Tell us in the comments below.