Nikkei: Nintendo Switch price will be ¥25000, about $215

Just three days before the official presentation of Nintendo Switch, comes a new rumor on its introductory price, this time coming from Nikkei.

The financial newspaper indicates that the new console will cost ¥25.00 in Japan ($215 at current exchange rates), as translated by Engadget. A price that would make it more cheaper compared to PS4 Pro (¥44,980) and of the same Wii U Basic version (¥26,250).

We had several rumors on the price of Switch these days, swinging from $199 to $399 from a few retail stores (but presumably placeholder prices). This indiscretion of Nikkei, however, is all the more interesting. First of all to the authority of the financial newspaper, and secondly because Nikkei does not indicate any insider as a source, so it probably knows what it is talking about.

Furthermore, in the past Nikkei has proven to be reliable giving in advance similar rumors ahead of its launch prices. 25,000 Yen converted at the exchange rate would be $215, but we know that markets never apply pure conversion, seeing that there comes into play various taxes and other factors, so we can expect a price of about $250, if the rumor proves to be true.

At this point we still just have to wait a few days to know the whole truth about the price of Nintendo Switch. Recall that Nintendo Switch presentation will be held on January 12 at 8 p.m. PT/11 p.m. ET (Friday, January 13 at 4 a.m. UK/2 p.m. AET).